/* $title="'.$logo_text.'"; */ /* $title="Global School For Advanced Studies (GSAS): Training Global Leaders in Science and Engineering"; */ /* $title="'.$logo_text.'"; */
Session on Advanced Solar Cell Research, Taiwan
Taiwan 2006


Activities during the 10-day Session were designed to spark innovation in this promising area of renewable energy development and prepare young researchers from diverse cultures and disciplines to collaborate effectively and lead future global initiatives. Participants attended lectures and gained hands-on experience in collaborative research planning with mentoring from senior experts.

The Session was co-hosted by the National Tsing Hua University in Hsinchu and the Taiwan Nano-X conference in Taipei. Major funding was provided by the National Science Council of Taiwan with additional support from the US National Science Foundation and industrial partners.


  • Allen Barnett, leader of the DARPA funded Consortium for Very-High Efficiency Solar Cells based at University of Delaware (US)
  • R.P.H. Chang, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern University (US)
  • Andreas Hinsch, Senior Scientist at Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems (Germany)
  • Huey Liang Hwang, Professor of Electrical Engineering at National Tsing Hua University (Taiwan)
  • Antonio Luque, Director of the Solar Energy Institute at the Polytechnic University of Madrid (Spain)
  • Malik Maaza, Researcher at iThemba LABS (South Africa)
  • Bruce Parkinson, Professor of Chemistry at the Colorado State University (US)
  • Wei-Fang Su, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the National Taiwan UniversityTaiwan)
  • Masafumi Yamaguchi, Director of the Super-High Efficiency Photovoltaics Research Center at the Toyota Technological Institute (Japan)

Scholars and Research Teams

Team 1

  • Morioka Chiharu, Junior Researcher,Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (Japan)
  • Jing-shun Huang, PhD candidate, Electro-optical Engineering,National Taiwan University (Taiwan)
  • Michael Jackson, PhD candidate, Materials Science and Engineering, University of California - Los Angeles (US)
  • Shih-Shou Lo, Postdoctoral Fellow, Physics, National Central University (Taiwan)
  • Vanni  Lughi, Postdoctoral Fellow, Materials Science and Engineering, University of California at Santa Barbara (US)
  • Alex Mayer, PhD Candidate, Applied Physics,Cornell University US)
  • Wei-Wen Tsai, PhD Candidate, Chemistry, Northwestern University (US)

Team 2

  • David Coffey, PhD candidate, Physics,University of Washington (US)
  • Joshua Spurgeon, PhD Candidate, Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology (US)
  • Gugu Mhlongo PhD candidate, Physics University of Zululand and Nanosciences Laboratories, Materials research group, iThemba LABS, National Research Foundation (South Africa)
  • Michael Woodhouse, PhD Candidate, Chemistry, Colorado State University (US)
  • Roland Emerito Otadoy, Junior Researcher, Physics, University of San Carlos (Philippines)
  • Takuo  Sasaki, PhD candidate, Materials Science and Engineering, Semiconductor Laboratory,Toyota Technological Institute (Japan)
  • Chang-Chung Yang, Postdoctoral Fellow, Energy and Environment Research Laboratories,Industrial Technology Research Institute (Taiwan)

Team 3

  • Susan Huang,   PhD candidate, Materials Science and Engineering, University of Delaware (US)
  • Jordan  Katz, PhD Candidate, Chemistry, California Institute of Technology (US)
  • Krzysztof Skupien, PhD candidate, Materials Science and Engineering, Kracow University of Technology (Poland)
  • Alex Su, Postdoctoral Fellow, Physics, Institute of Physics, Academia Sinica (Taiwan)
  • Hidetoshi Suzuki, Postdoctoral Fellow, Materials Science and Engineering,Toyota Technological Institute (Japan)
  • Pardhasaradhi  Vemulamada, Graduate Student, Materials Science and Engineering, National University of Singapore (Singapore)


  • National Science Council, Taiwan
  • Industrial Technology Research Institute
  • Academia Sinica,Taiwan
  • Taiwan Power Company


  • Chin Pan, National Tsing Hua University (Taiwan)
  • Tsung-Tsan Su, Industrial Technology Research Institute (Taiwan)
  • Maw-Kuen Wu, Academia Sinica (Taiwan)
  • Ting-kuo Lee, Academia Sinica (Taiwan)
  • Tsing-Tang Song, Academia Sinica (Taiwan)
  • R.P.H. Chang, Northwestern University (USA) 
  • M. Yamaguchi, Toyota Technical Institute (Japan)