/* $title="'.$logo_text.'"; */ /* $title="Global School For Advanced Studies (GSAS): Training Global Leaders in Science and Engineering"; */ /* $title="'.$logo_text.'"; */

GSAS is jointly operated and funded by international partners. The GSAS Staff is based at Northwestern University under the leadership of GSAS Director, R.P.H. Chang.

The School is managed by an 8-member International Executive Committee and an extensive Advisory Board with expertise in basic research, policy, technology development and manufacturing.

Executive Committee

  • Gerd Bachmann(Germany)VDI-Technologiezentrum GmbH, Future Technologies Division and NanoForum
  • R.P.H. Chang (USA) Northwestern University Materials Research Institute and International Union of Materials Research Societies (IUMRS)
  • Elisabeth Csoregi (Sweden) Lund University and Nano2Life Network
  • Naoki Kishimoto (Japan) National Institute for Materials Science and Asia Nanoforum
  • Celso Pinto de Melo (Brazil) Brazilian Academy of Sciences and Universidade Federal de Pernambuco
  • James Williams (Australia)Australian National University, Research School of Physical Sciences & Engineering and Australian Network for Advanced Materials (ARNAM)
  • Maw-Kuen Wu (Taiwan)Academia Sinica, Institute of Physics, Asia Nanoforum, National Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Program of Taiwan, and Taiwan Nanotechnology Industry Development Association

 Advisory Board

  • Aboubaker Beye (Senegal) Universite Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar
  • Adil Al-Tamimi (United Arab Emirates) American University in Sharjah, Chemical Engineering
  • C.N.R. Rao (India) CSIR Centre of Excellence in Chemistry Chemistry and Physics of Materials Unit Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, India
  • Clivia Sotomayor-Torres (Spain) Group Leader - CIN2, Phononic and Photonic Nanostructures Group, PHOREMOST Network
  • D Wayne Goodman (United States) Texas A&M University, Chemistry
  • Daniel Cox (United States) University of California-Davis, International Materials Institute
  • Co-director:Institute for Complex Adaptive Matter (ICAM)      USA
  • Ernesto Calvo (Argentina) Universidad de Buenos Aires, INQUIMAE
  • Fernando Lund (Chile) Centro para la Investigacion Interdisciplinaria Avanzada en Ciencias de los Materiales (CIMAT)
  • Francis DiSalvo (United States) Cornell University, Center for Materials Research
  • Frank von Hippel (United States) Princeton University, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Co-Director, Program on Science and Global Security
  • Gretchen Kalonji (United States) University of California Santa Cruz, Baskin School of Engineering
  • Guillermo Solorzano (Brazil) Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro - PUC-Rio, Founding President, Brazilian Materials Research Society
  • Han Jo Lim (South Korea) Korean Nanotechnology Researchers Society (KoNRTS)
  • Harold Kung (United States) Northwestern University, Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Himanshu Jain (United States) Director of International Materials Institute, Lehigh University
  • J Murray Gibson (United States) Associate Laboratory Director, Photon Sciences, Argonne National Laboratory
  • James Gerard Conley (United States) Northwestern University, Technology Industry Management
  • Jesus Gonzalez (Mexico) Director, Centro de Investigación en Materiales Avanzados (CIMAV), National Nanotechnology Coordinator
  • John Amphlett (Canada) Royal Military College, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
  • John Baglin (United States) IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Josep Samitier (Spain) University of Barcelona, Electronic Instrumentation and Director of the Research Center for Bioelectronics and Nanobioscience; Nano2Life Network;
  • Kathy C. Taylor (United States) General Motors (GM) Research & Planning,Director of Material Processing Laboratory (retired)
  • Kazunobu Tanaka (Japan) Fellow, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
  • Krisna Rajan (United States) Iowa State University, Director of the Institute for Combinatorial Discovery
  • Masao Doyama (Japan) Teikyo University of Science and Technology, Eco-Materials
  • Mauricio Terrones (Mexico) Universidad Carlos III, Materials Science
  • Peter Liaw (United States) University of Tennessee – Knoxville, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Puru Jena (United States) Virginia Commonwealth University, Physics
  • Robbie Burch (United Kingdom) Queen's University Belfast, School of Chemistry
  • Robert Farrauto (United States) BASF Catalysts LLC, Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Research
  • Robert Hull (United States) Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Ryoichi Yamamoto (Japan) Kyoto University, Chemical Engineering
  • Seeram Ramakrishna (Singapore) Vice-President (Research Strategy, National University of Singapore
  • Seng-Tiong Ho (United States) Northwestern University, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Tsung-Tsan Su (Taiwan) Vice President and General Director, NanoTechnology Research Center, lndustrial.Technology Research Institute (ITRI)
  • Virginia Ciminelli (Brazil) Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (UFMG)
  • Wole Soboyejo (United States) Princeton University, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Director, U.S./Africa Materials Institute